Telephone: 01246 201191 - Email: enquiries@stmaryschesterfield.org.uk

Choosing a Career

It is vital that you research your career ideas. You need to find out the kind of skills, attitudes and experiences that you will need. Whilst researching you might in fact conclude that that career area is not for you but equally you might also stumble upon a job that is perfect but that you’d never even heard of! It is vitally important that you look at the qualifications needed too as this might affect the choices that you make through school.

General Careers Websites

National Careers Service (Job Profiles) – Information about different jobs and advice about how to write CVs and make applications. Includes details about how to speak to a careers adviser for personal advice.

I Could… (Career Ideas) – Activities, quizzes and videos to help you make choices about your future.

Whose Crew Are You? – Question based website helping you to work out what kind of science or technology career might suit you in the future.

Careersbox Film Clips – Videos and information about a variety of jobs and interview skills.

Total Professions – Information about making choices that will help you work towards a career in law, medicine and other professional roles.

Plotr – Fun site with information about different careers. Includes a skills quiz to help give you ideas of jobs you might enjoy.

Get My First Job – Information and advice about finding the right apprenticeship.

Transition Information (for Young People with disabilities) http://www.transitioninfonetwork.org.uk

Women into Science, Engineering and Technology : http://www.wisecampaign.org.uk/

The links below will help you find out about jobs and careers and the kind of skills, attitudes, qualifications and experiences you will need to work in them.

Catering, Hospitality & Tourism

(Food, Drink, Hotels, Tourism & Services)

CareerScope : http://careerscope.uk.net/

People First : http://www.people1st.co.uk/

Taste Success : http://www.tastesuccess.co.uk/

The Creative Industries

(Music, Dance, Drama, Art, Design, Media, Writing & Photography)

Skillset (Creative Careers) : http://www.creativeskillset.org/careers/index_1.asp

BBC Careers & Recruitment : http://www.bbc.co.uk/careers/home

BPI (Music Careers) : http://www.bpi.co.uk/default.aspx

Creative Choices : http://www.creative-choices.co.uk/

Health, Social Care & Education

Step Into the NHS : http://www.stepintothenhs.nhs.uk/

Your Future East Midlands (Local NHS Careers) http://www.yourfuture-eastmidlands.co.uk/

Get Into Teaching : http://www.education.gov.uk/get-into-teaching

Social Care Institute for Excellence : http://www.scie.org.uk/socialcaretv/index.asp

Skills for Care : http://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/home/home.aspx

Nursing Standard : http://nursingstandard.rcnpublishing.co.uk/

Law

All About Law : http://www.allaboutlaw.co.uk/

Junior Lawyers : http://juniorlawyers.lawsociety.org.uk/

Public Services, Armed Forces & Security

Army Recruitment : http://www.army.mod.uk/join/join.aspx

RAF Careers : http://www.raf.mod.uk/careers/

Royal Navy Careers : http://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/Careers

Derbyshire Police Careers : http://www.derbyshire.police.uk/Careers/Careers.aspx

East Midlands Ambulance Service Careers : http://www.emas.nhs.uk/careers/

Skills for Security : http://www.skillsforsecurity.org.uk/

Skills for Justice : http://www.sfjuk.com/

Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Jobs & Careers : http://www.derbys-fire.gov.uk/jobs-and-careers

Running Your Own Business

The Prince’s Trust : http://www.princes-trust.org.uk/need_help/enterprise_programme.aspx

Shell LiveWire : http://www.shell-livewire.org/

Running a Business : https://www.gov.uk/browse/business

Science, Technology & Engineering

Engineering Construction Industry Training Board : http://www.ecitb.org.uk/

FutureMorph Career Opportunities in Science & Maths : http://www.futuremorph.org/

Prospect4U (Careers in Manufacturing) : http://www.prospect4u.co.uk/index.html

The Engineer : http://www.theengineer.co.uk/

1st Gear (Working with Cars) : http://www.autocity.org.uk/1st-gear/

Smallpeice Trust (Engineering Opportunities) http://www.smallpeicetrust.org.uk/

Go Cracker (Science, Technology & Engineering) http://www.gocracker.com/

 

 

St Mary's Catholic High School, Newbold Road, Newbold, Chesterfield, S41 8AG


St Marys Catholic High School Academy Trust is an exempt charity and a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales with Company Number 8107212 and has a registered office at Newbold Road, Upper Newbold, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, S41 8AG.

St Mary's Catholic High School